72 Days of Fame

Kim Kardashian and Kris Humphries pose for a picture.
This morning, hopefully to no one’s surprise, Kim Kardashian filed for divorce from NBA player Kris Humphries. To preface my disdain for this particular event, you should know where I’m coming from. Here a few tidbits so you can catch up:

1. Kim Kardashian shouldn’t be famous.
2. I only figured out why she is famous after asking my mom out of all people…about 5 times.
(Sidenote: Marshall Eriksen feels the same way.)
3. I’m a huge basketball fan.
4. I only know Kris Humphries because he’s a basketball player and used to play for the Toronto Raptors.
5. Kris Humphries is in reality a mediocre basketball player who now plays for a really bad team.
6. A few weeks ago I’d read rumours on various basketball sites that Kim and Kris’ marriage was having problems.
7. I don’t give a crap about their marriage.

I’m sure there’s more but I won’t bore you with details. The point is that today we saw a celebrity marriage at its finest: short-lived, really random, and of course, it spawned a reality tv show. (No word on how Keeping Up with the Kardashians will be affected or if Ryan Seacrest will show up on set wearing a #TeamHump t-shirt.)

There was lots of buzz about this on Twitter today and people were coming at them from all – and I mean all – angles, but two things caught my attention.

The first is that “Kim Kardashian sold the rights to her wedding for $17.9 million. Her marriage lasted 72 days. That comes to a nifty $10,358.80 per hour.” Are you fucking kidding me? That’s absolutely absurd… E! shelled out $17 million to watch a celebrity get married? Not only that but a high-profile celebrity like KK dating a mid-level basketball player during a lockout that she’d only known for a few months? C’mon. This wasn’t going to last.

The second is how the LGBT community and their allies used this “marriage” to blast critics of same-sex marriage who charge that same-sex couple ruin the sanctity of marriage. (See George Takei and Tyler Oakley for examples.) Besides the fact that I’m supportive of all types of marriage, I think this is good logic and a great excuse to attack the morons who are convinced that only men and women make good couples. Wrong.

Say what you want about all of this, I just hope you say it’s a joke.

Leave a Reply

