Hometown Glory

Turntables representing the Toronto music scene

As I set off for a weekend in Montreal, I loaded up my iPhone with a ton of great music from my hometown of Toronto. I finally got to buying Ian Kamau‘s EP and LP, Cocoons and One Day Soon, respectively. I haven’t had a chance to listen to the LP but an early favourite from the EP is the first track, “The Fleeting Moment” featuring Tuku. You can stream the EP below but I suggest heading over to his Band Camp profile and giving the man a few bucks for making incredible music.

Next up was the aforementioned leak of Drake’s – who is by far T. Dot’s biggest musical export in decades – second album, Take Care. I’ve listened to the whole thing over 10 times now and it has some amazing tracks; Drizzy will definitely be getting my money when the album officially drops next Tuesday.

For my readers who have already listened to the CD, what’s your favourite track? Leave a comment below and let the world know. For the record, mine’s a tie between “Lord Knows” and “Underground Kings” but knowing myself, that will change every week for the next two months.

Finally, we have a new EP from one of my favourite live bands, Keys n Krates. These guys are also from Toronto and I suggest you see them live wherever you live but especially if you live in Toronto. They always have a great hometown crowd to rock to. (Check out my pictures from their show at Lee’s Palace back in March.) But anyways, their EP; it’s a 7-song collection of new material. If you’re unfamiliar with their music, they are a “live remixing” band, which means they’ll take a sample and jam to it. The band consists of three very talented members: Flowinsky behind the decks, Matisse on keys and Tune on the drums. Listen to their music, love their music and most importantly, dance to their music.

That’s it for now. I’m happy to go to Montreal knowing that right now very cities can touch mine in terms of musical diversity and talent. Until next time, take care.

Leave a Reply

