Saving My Money

Young couple asleep in a movie theatre

I have a short attention span so movies aren’t my thing, but everyone once in a while something tempts me to make the trip to the theatre; the month of November is not one of those times. In this whole month there are MAYBE two movies I’d be interested in seeing and one features a green frog puppet. The other is J. Edgar which features an excellent cast of Leo DiCaprio, Naomi Watts, Judie Dench & Ed Westwick, and is directed and produced by the ageless Clint Eastwood. Unfortunately The Muppets doesn’t come out for another week and J. Edgar got a lowly 66% user rating on Rotten Tomatoes (and my mom saw it and said it was very boring). Besides that, my only other appealing option is a drama-comedy starring George Clooney called The Descendants, which had both a great critic and a great user rating on Rotten Tomatoes. Unfortunately the plot doesn’t excite me too much.

Of course I could join the thousands of people who rushed to the box office this weekend to catch the latest instalment of the Twilight series, Breaking Dawn Part 1, but that would involve watching Twilight so no. There are other movies featuring actors I’ve heard of that came out or are coming out this month – Hugo starring Ben Kingsley and Sasha Baron Cohen, Arthur Christmas featuring James McAvoy and Huge Laurie, Melancholia featuring Kirsten Dunst & Alexander Skarsgård, etc. – but not a single one makes me want to spend at least $10 to watch it.

I really hope this is an uncharacteristically bad month for movies – which is disappointing as the Oscars approach – or else I won’t be going to the movies for a loooooong time. Sorry ladies.

Leave a comment